Land Reform Review Group

The Scottish Government’s Land Reform Review group met yesterday in Birnam. The group is chaired by Dr Alison Elliot and the two vice chairs are Professor James Hunter and Dr Sarah Skerratt. At the meeting, the group issued a call for evidence as well as announcing the members of its Advisory Group. The news was emailed to 1000 stakeholders yesterday by the Scottish Government but I only received a copy of the information today from the group’s vice-chair, Dr Skerratt. Many others with an interest in land reform are also not, it seems, on the Scottish Government’s list of 1000 stakeholders.

The advisors are

Professor David Adams, Chair of Property & Urban Studies, University of Glasgow.

Andrew Bruce-Wooton, Manager of the 126,000 acre Atholl Estate

Amanda Bryan, Rural Development Consultant and Forestry Commissioner

Ian Cooke, Director of the Development Trusts Association Scotland

Simon A Fraser, Solicitor and former Chair of Isle of Eigg Heritage Trust

Priscilla Gordon-Duff, co-owner of Drummuir Estate

Dr David Miller, James Hutton Institute and co-ordinator of Scottish Government’s Strategic Research Programme on land use

Bob Reid, planner, access specialist, former President of Mountaineering Council of Scotland and currently Convenor of Royal Town Planning Institute Scotland

Agnes Rennie, crofter and Chair of Urras Oighreachd Ghabhsainn

Dr Madhu Satsangi, Senior Lecturer in Housing and Applied Social Science, University of Stirling

John Watt, former Director Strengthening Communities, Highlands and Islands Enterprise

Donald MacRae, Chief Economist, Lloyds Banking Group (added after initial announcement)

Further details on advisors is available here.

The group has website –

Call for Evidence

Explanatory Notes

Respondent Form

Workplan and Timetable

UPDATED 11 October 2012 with additional adviser (Donald MacRae) and live links to website